back to top


Members of the SACC affirm the following statement of faith:

“We confess the Lord Jesus Christ as God and Saviour, according to the Scriptures, and therefore seek to enter into fellowship with other Christians, through the South African Council of Churches, as witness to our commitment to a common ministry to the glory of the one God: Father, Son and Holy Spirit.”

Our Members

African Catholic Church

Coptic Orthodox Church

African Presbyterian Bafolisi Church

Anglican Church of Southern Africa

Apostolic Faith Mission of Southern Africa

Baptist Convention SA

African Methodist Episcopal Church

Dutch Reformed Church

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Southern Africa

Ethiopian Episcopal Church

Evangelical Church of SA

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Southern Africa (Cape Church)

Gereformeerde Kerk in Suid Afrika

Gereformeerde Kerk in Suid Afrika

Evangelical Presbyterian Church in SA

Grace Bible Church

Maranatha Reformed Church of Christ

Methodist Church of Southern Africa

The Uniting Presbyterian Church in Southern Africa

North Eastern Evangelical Lutheran Church in South Africa, short NELCSA

The Southern African Catholic Bishops’ Conference

Moravian Church in Southern Africa

Presbyterian Church of Africa

Quakers in Southern Africa

The Salvation Army

Uniting Reformed Church of Southern Africa

United Congregational Church of Southern Africa

Volkskerk van Afrika

Greek Orthodox Patriachate of Johannesburg and Pretoria

Greek Orthodox Patriachate of Alexandria

Blocks of Churches

Council of African Independent Churches

Rhema – International Federation of Christian Churches

The Evangelical Alliance of South Africa

Associate Organisations

Benchmarks Foundation

Christian Development Trust

Church Land Program

Diakonia Council of Churches

Young Men Christian Association

Institute for Healing of Memories

The Christian Network

Ecumenical Service for Socio-Economic Transformation (ESSET)


Provincial Members

The Provincial Councils of Churches are currently autonomous and independent organisations that have the status of affiliate members of the South African Council of Churches. There are ongoing discussions as to whether this should not change so that they become part of a unitary integrated SACC as was in the past — this will require a constitutional change. There are currently seven functional provinces, while re-establishment work is underway in the two provinces of the Northern Cape and North West.

Existing provincial councils are:

1. KwaZulu-Natal Christian Council

2. South African Council of Churches – Eastern Cape

3. South African Council of Churches – Free State

4. South African Council of Churches – Gauteng

5. South African Council of Churches – Limpopo

6. South African Council of Churches – Mpumalanga

7. South African Council of Churches – Western Cape

A church wishing to join SACC in a province can submit an inquiry to, and will be appropriately advised.


For a Church/Denomination to be recognised by the National SACC it must be in existence in at least 3 provinces with a minimum of 6 congregations (branches) in at least 3 of the provinces.

Admission into the SACC is approved by the Central Committee that meets once a year.

If the Church/Domination fails to meet the requirements they can join SACC at Provincial level at the SACC Provincial offices.

Churches who want to affiliate with SACC should submit the following documents to the SACC:

  • Completed application form
  • Cover Letter signed by the Head of the Church / Archbishop/Moderator confirming interest to be a member and willingness to comply with all obligations, rules, procedures, etc if membership is accepted
  • Constitution of the Church
  • Certified copy of Registration Certificate (which can be obtained from Department of Social Development)

Application can be emailed to or send it by mail for the attention of the General Secretary (P.O Box 62098, Marshalltown, 2107)

become a member today

fill out the application form

Download membership form